Seven Ancestral Teachings

The Ancestral Teachings of the Anishinaabe are integral principles by which we can and should live and work – with ourselves, with each other, and all whom we encounter at YPT. They teach us about leadership, knowledge keeping, power sharing, de-colonization, conflict resolution and living in harmony with the people and land around us.

The Seven Ancestral Teachings of Respect, Humility, Bravery, Honesty, Love, Wisdom and Truth are rooted deep within Anishinaabe culture. YPT is committed to allowing these teachings to influence our core values, the way we work internally and with the public, now and into the future. Our understanding and definitions of these seven words places value on the personal experiences of YPT community members, and what each teaching means to them.

Each production in our 2023.24 Season explores one or more of the Seven Ancestral Teachings. More information can be found in our show study guides here (study guides will be updated throughout the season as they become available).

  1. To cherish knowledge is to know WISDOM.
  2. To know LOVE is to know peace.
  3. To honor all of the Creation is to have RESPECT.
  4. BRAVERY is to face the foe with integrity.
  5. HONESTY in facing a situation is to be brave.
  6. HUMILITY is to know yourself as a sacred part of the creation.
  7. TRUTH is to know all of these things.

“All of the Ancestral teachings are equal in importance and significance; you cannot use one without the other, they are to be used together in a holistic approach to guiding your life and the way you live. In the Ojibway language this is known as Mino-Bimaadiziwin, the good way of life.”
– Lindy Kinoshameg, former YPT Community Engagement Facilitator

Reference: The Mishomis Book – The Voice of the Ojibway by Edward Benton-Banai

To learn more about Indigenous learning at YPT, click here.